April 12, 2014

  • Finally...a poem?

    Cabin Fever

    When I'm 96 will I have cabin fever?
    My mother does, and she's 96.
    I'm 76 and can get out and go when I want to.
    Mother can't.
    She has to wait for me to take her.
    She has to wait until she feels strong enough.
    Then she has to get dressed.
    Her usual nightie and robe won't do for going out.
    I should be more sympathetic than I am.
    If I live to be 96,
    I'll find out what cabin fever really is.

    I don't know if that's a poem or not, but there it is. I wonder what everyone else will write about?
    Janet could write about an old cabin on the beach. Aloysius'Son could tell us about the fever that he had that drove him to build a cabin in the woods. Carolyn could tell us about real cabins that people live in in the Philippines, made of trash and stuff. Jill might take a picture of a little cabin in the antique mall (they must have at least one.) Murisposis could tell about finding a cache near a cabin. Frank could show us a picture of Rusty peeing on the wall of a cabin. Hehehee. This is fun. I'd better quit before I get myself in trouble.

Comments (14)

  • It is a poem... and very poignant.

  • I agree it is a poem in every sense - the topic both touching and introspective! Hope you and your mother can get out today. It is supposed to get up to 72 degrees!!!!

  • This is a kind of cabin fever that wait for each of us ! Live th epresent time ...in our cabin! :-)
    Love
    Michel

  • give me an idea what I will show.
    Well, Frank talked more about cabin fever then Rusty lifting his leg. LOL

    I have to find a photo of a little cabin. LOL

    This is sad cause I was the same way with my mom and I would tease her but she would get me back. I would say,"you're only on the 3rd row at the store and I would tell a friend in the store that it takes her forever and she would say,"see how my daughter rushes me" or something equal to me.
    now I'm just happy is she recognized me "face."

  • I can so relate to this poem! My mother lived to 96, and she was pretty house-bound for her last few years. It's tough to be patient -- but it has to be tougher to be 96!

  • Very nicely captured. :-)

  • Love it

  • I just wrote a haiku :) Your comment challenged me!

  • Very well expressed. All the fears, worries, and cares of growing old without family is so evident here.

  • Hi. regarding your comment: I've just started watching The Duggars. My daughter got me Netflix streaming and that's how I am able to watch. I started at the beginning and have many seasons to go through to be caught up. :-)

  • Good thoughts. My best understanding of cabin fever came following my car accident when I couldn't drive for 6 weeks. I could only go somewhere when Cerwin took me.

  • When did this topic start?
    Is there a deadline for making one?

    • I'm not sure which day this was for. It was just one that interested me. I don't think there are any deadlines.
      Murisopsis is the one who suggested topics for each day for a month. I had to look at some of her older posts to see the list.

  • Yes, to be 96 and cabin bound would be a trial. God gives us grace for the way and a good way to say how we feel :-) Hugs to you and Mom.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *