March 4, 2014

  • 56 Years

    March 2, 1958. Grace Community Church. Santa Barbara, Calif.
    12-30-2012_016
    We were both 20. That was a long time ago. Sorry for the quality of the picture.
    It was a small wedding. Just my mom and step-dad, and my brother, his mom and dad and aunt and uncle.
    My folks were divorced, and my mom said she wouldn't come to the wedding if my dad came. My dad said he wouldn't pay for a wedding until we were both out of college. Santa Barbara was halfway between Long Beach, and San Luis Obispo, so that is where we were married. I had moved up to San Luis O. a week or so before to look for a job, and had rented a little trailer on campus. We paid $25. per mo. and that included utilities. I never did find a job, but helped my husband earn money by picking seeds for a nursery where they planted the seeds and then sold the plants to nurseries in So. Calif. and other places.
    We knew a big wedding was out of the question, since he was still in school, and we had no money. I think we had $15. the day of the wedding. His parents had given us a 1953 Mercury as a wedding gift. Two weeks after the wedding our 2 mothers had a reception for us at our church in Seal Beach. That was nice, as I didn't have to plan anything. That particular year, Calif. had had a lot of rain, and the hills were green and beautiful. I am glad they are finally getting some rain this year, and hope it does not do too much damage. Well, I have rambled enough. Just mainly wanted to show you the picture.

Comments (10)

  • what a sweet story! Blessings to you as you reminisce ~

  • Happy Anniversary!!! May you have many more happy years.

  • congrats and it doesn't seem like that long or does it?
    With Dave and I it seems like we've always known each other and then it seems like we just meet, too. How is that possible? LOL

  • Love made you rich!

  • Happy Anniversary!!! I think small weddings are nicer than huge ones -- they're more intimate and personal when they're small. It's still a very dry year, and, despite having about 8 inches of rain in 4 days last week, we're still desperately in need of more rain!

  • What a lovely story... and it just goes to show big weddings don't make long and lasting marriages, true love does. :-D I wish people still put marriage ahead of sinning.
    Happy Anniversary.

  • How precious to have this picture to look back to and remember how it all started! You didn't ramble, Gracia. I could have read more of your story. I'm glad that God brought you together (& I know that you are)! God has used you in your marriage as you have ministered to others to the glory of God. Happy Anniversary. Love you. ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  • Happy Anniversary.....56 years of wonderful memories.....May God Bless you with many more happy years together!!

  • What a nice picture and story!!! Just goes to show you don't need to spend a lot on one day.

  • What a sweet memory to share with us. Happy Anniversary Gracia. Small weddings are more memorable and personal i think.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *