March 8, 2014

  • Update on Husband

    I'm getting to know my way around the hospital.  Tom has a balloon in his chest helping him breathe.  It goes up through his upper leg where they went in to do the heart cath.  The bad part is that he cannot move that leg.  He also cannot sit up or the tube that goes to the balloon might crimp and mess everything up.   He can have the head of the bed raised only 30%.  He's been very patient, and a good patient.  The surgery will be about 8am Monday morning, and last 4 hours.  It will probably be a quadruple by-pass.   He'll be in surgical ICU for 2 days, and then about 4 days in a regular room.  Right now  he's in the cardiac ICU.  They are taking good care of him.  I plan to go tomorrow afternoon and spend the night so I can see him before they take him to surgery.  That way I won't have to get up in the middle of the night to get there on time.  Probably most of the kids will come later in the morning.  Meanwhile one of the daughters-in-law will be babysitting for her nephew while his dad has knee surgery.  This same d-i-l was scheduled for gall bladder surgeryTuesday, but she postponed it for 2 weeks.  It seems just like the snow.  Enough already!  It snowed Again today.  However it's warm enough that it didn't stick on the roads.  Now, to leave on a cheery note, here are a few pictures of our great grand-son.

    DSC01084 DSC01082 DSC01081
    Now I'm going to go change the clocks so I don't forget.

Comments (9)

  • The little one is adorable. I will be praying for all of you and on Monday will add the surgical staff.
    Do take care of you. That's important now, too.
    Hugs and smiles,
    Char

  • Prayers are going up faster than the snow can come down! Be safe traveling.
    BTW I see how he is holding that ball - looks like a natural basketball player!

  • What a little cutie -- something to smile about during this stressful time! Take care of yourself so you can take care of everyone else!

  • Will be praying for his surgery.
    That is a cute little guy!
    Take care of yourself. We changed our clocks already too.

  • I've been praying, and am glad to hear that he's being a good patient. I shall continue to keep you all in my prayers. Sounds like you and your family have a lot to deal with right now.
    Your great grandson is adorable... and Val is right about the way he's holding that ball! :-)
    Love, hugs, and prayers ♥ ♥

  • Praying for hubby.

  • I can see why you're scared but I'm so glad they can fix him.
    After the surgery he will be like new. Like he didn't even have a close call!!!!!
    I've seen so many of my pts. say," I have no heart trouble now, can you believe it, Jill?"
    It's a do over and he will be just fine and you will be,too to have him back to normal.

  • awww ~ he is a sweetie-pie ~

  • Praying all goes well!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *