November 29, 2014

  • Fun and Games

    Thanksgiving was good. The next day, yesterday, I babysat 2 grand-daughters while their mom worked. The first thing the younger one said when she came in the door was "Grandma, can I play 'puter?" I told her no, she had to wait awhile. About the 30th time she asked, I gave in and said OK. We set the timer and she played PBS Kids for 10 minutes, then it was her sister's turn. They took turns for awhile, until I decided that was enough. The day went well. I even got a nap while they went next door to play with their 13 year old cousin. While they were gone, youngest son who is visiting from Rochester, N.Y. constructed a complex marble run, using every piece available. When the girls came back Evie went right to the 'puter.
    104_0929

    Big sister went downstairs to see the marble run.
    104_0930

    Part of it was too high for her to reach. She must have played with it for an hour or more.

    104_0931Then it was time for supper. After supper their mama came (she had had to work late) and took them home. She wasn't feeling good, and today has a fever and cold. There's a lot of that going around. I hope she'll be better by Monday when she has to go back to work. We're going to pick up the girls for Sunday School tomorrow.
    You know a toy is good when it's challenging enough for an adult, and a child can still enjoy it.  Thanksgiving evening, our 2 year old grandson was playing with it, with the help of his dad and grand-dad, with his mom and grandma watching to make sure he didn't try to eat any marbles.  I first bought the set from Discovery Toys several years ago.  The next year I bought some more pieces.  Through the years I've found some at garage sales too.

Comments (9)

  • There is nothing more fun than having the kids over, and also are great cause of naps.

    I think you loved every mintute.---good for you about the timer. I need a timer--way too much time in front of screens.

  • Love it! Marble ladders are so fun for kiddos ~

  • That is one big Marble ladder. What fun.

  • That is a big marble ladder! Awesome. My grandchildren would love it. Hope your Sunday is awesome. :-)

  • We have a set too! The boys loved that thing. I was not so in love since I was forever finding marbles under furniture with the vacuum! Sparky refuses to get rid of it - says that it will be a classic and perfect for any grandkids!

  • I used to find marbles under my bare feet.....Ouch! However, I agree with Sparky that you should keep it.

  • That is quite the marble run!

  • That is quite the marble run - LOVE it!!

  • I like the picture of your grand daughter playing with the marble run.
    Nowadays the computer is stronger than us and the children are brought up by this technology. It is the same for us.
    Love
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *