December 21, 2014

  • Progress

    Hubby is continuing to get better.  He's on several new meds or increased doses of old ones, and that takes time to get used to.

    I've been busy getting ready for Christmas.  Went to the grocery store Sat.  Boy, was it crowded!  I knew it would be, but that was the best time for me to go.  Tomorrow I will babysit a couple of grand-daughters.  I'm having 3 of the older grand-kids come over to help amuse them.  I have some paper plates and stuff for them to make Christmas wreaths.  Also, I want us to practice some songs to sing for and with the adults.  Other years we've done Christmas plays, but that is too much work for me this year.  Not sure what I will fix them for lunch.  2 of them won't eat sandwiches.  They love mac n cheese, but eat so much of it, I'm surprised it's not coming out their ears.  I wonder who first said that?

    We don't have any snow yet, and it looks like we won't except for possibly a few flurries Christmas day.  That's good for those who are driving, but also kind of sad.  Not that I grew up with snow.  I didn't.  One time when I was little we woke up to white stuff on the ground (but not at Christmas-time,)  We called it snow, but it was more like heavy frost.   We lived in the same rented house for 16 years.  It had a large front window with smaller panes of glass in it.  Every Christmas my mother would spray something white that looked like snow in the corner of each pane.

    I think I posted on the old Xanga about tinsel.  "Tinsel back then was made of tin, not plastic.  It didn't reach out and grab you and stick to your clothes like modern tinsel does.  We put the strands on one at a time, (except my brother tried to take handfuls and throw them on. Little brothers can be so annoying.)   When Christmas was over we took the tinsel off one at a time, and wrapped it around a piece of cardboard.  We lived in the city, so after Christmas everyone threw their trees away and the city came and picked them up.  One lady in our neighborhood threw her tree out with the tinsel still on it.  We were shocked!  We thought it was very wasteful.   When she wasn't looking we went out and took the tinsel off her tree too and kept it.

    I really don't remember much about individual Christmases, except the year I got a child-size roll-top desk.  I wish I still had it.  I think my mother sold it before we moved.  We always went to my grandma and grandpa's house in the late afternoon.  I don't remember if we ate there, but we sat in the living room with the big oriental rug.  Grandma took the plastic off the chairs before we came.  They didn't usually use the living room, but kept it as kind of a showroom for their store.  She sometimes would sell a rug or a piece of furniture from the living room.  The rug store was attached at the front of the house.  Our aunt would be there, and our cousin, Carol Ann.  We always felt sorry for her because she had to wait until we got there to open our presents.  We opened ours at our house in the morning, as soon as we could get the grown-ups out of bed.  One time I woke my mother up at 7:15.  She sent me back to bed because she thought it was 3:35.  We were allowed to get our stockings before they got up.

    Well, that's enough rambling.  What are some of your Christmas memories.  What do you have left to do to get ready?

    Sorry, no pictures this time.  I am having a problem with pictures.  I'd better go wrap a few more presents now before I go to bed.

    Oh, I do remember that I usually got a Raggedy Ann book and a Storybook doll.  I still have the books and most of the dolls.  I also have an original "Rudolph" book........the ones they gave out at Montgomery Wards.  I don't know what year that was.  I'll have to google it.

Comments (6)

  • I remember the "bubble" lights that my grandparents had on their tree - they had colored liquid in them and were very fragile. I think they were supposed to look like real candles! Then my grandmother got an aluminum tree with a color wheel that would make the tree turn color from yellow to blue to red and back. I was always fascinated at the in between colors of orange, green, and purple. I must have sat for hours watching that tree shift color. One of my first Christmas memories was getting a rocking horse - it was on springs and it really moved! I think my parents finally got rid of it when I was about 10 - by then both my sisters had out grown it! Merry Christmas!!

  • I started to write here but got to remembering - thanks to you - and will now go make it a post of my own.

  • Those were the days, when a Raggedy Ann and a book were such special things ~ kids seem to expect way more these days ~ sigh ~

  • I re3member how annually we set uo the aluminum christmas tree. I don't remember any special decoration but we did not "light" our tree either.

    One aunt would give us clothes and father and mother gave us various gifts. I do not buy much christmas gifts, instead I try to get something out of the trash that particular people can use....

  • I love thinking about Christmas' past like you do----I am fuzzy on details as well.

    Once I woke up and went into the kitchen. My dad and brother were playing with a train set. They were surprised to see me. They said Santa had just came and left me the train. lol

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories