July 21, 2013

  • Summer White

    I walked around the yard with my camera.  I saw a lot of white among the green.

    I'm pretty sure this white mushroom/toadstool is Not edible.

    There were little white butterflies everywhere I looked, but most of them were camera shy.  Finally I found one resting on a Queen Ann's lace flower.  In case you can;t see it, it's on the right.

    Queen Ann's lace is considered a weed here in Indiana, but the flowers are delicate and pretty.

    Later I heard a noise, and saw this yellow plane flying up and down.  The man who came with his son to power wash our house told us that the man who owns the planes has several people flying for him. Sometimes they spray for pests like the emerald ash borer.  Other times they spray for farmers.  They also spray for mosquitoes, which I didn't know.  That's nice to know, because we live in the county and not the city, so our area doesn't get sprayed.  He said it only costs $12. an acre, which isn't too bad.  We probably won't do it unless someone wants to use our yard for a wedding or family reunion or something.

    He wasn't spraying our yard, just flying over.  He looked like he was enjoying his job.

    "He (God) has made everything beautiful in its time."  Ecclesiastes 3:11

Comments (10)

  • I love the Queen Anne's Lace - when I was growing up (we lived in a new subdivision with a large corn field behind and acres of rolling meadow) we would pull up the plants to get the roots - wild parsnips as we called them.

  • I saw the butterfly. Lovely white, and delicate Queen Anne's Lace.

  • Pretty!! The flowers look so refreshing in this hot weather!!

  • Very pretty pictures. I just love summertime!

  • What do they spray? I read so much about the dangers of pesticides and such.... just wondering. I know mosquitoes can be a big problem in some areas. When my husband gets bitten, his whole arm/leg/whatever swells. Usually mosquitoes leave me alone. Hubby thinks it is because of all the pain meds I take! My blood is not their favorite!

  • @DanishDoll - I don't really know what they spray, but it's probably not good for people either.

  • I like to put white in my flower arrangements-real or artificial and I've never taken a class but I think it makes a difference -makes it stand out.good shot of the plane. I had a chance the other day and my camera took too long to take the photo and by then it was gone and the plane was itty bitty in the clouds.

  • I remember seeing crop dusters as a kid when I lived in the country. I have seen those little butterflies here too but they are too fast to get a good shot.

  • I see a crop duster every once in awhile. We were driving one time when we got sprayed. Not a fun feeling. I don't know what it was but the paint didn't peel off of the van. Love the white in the lawn. I need to take a walk to find some colors.

  • Great pics. I always liked seeing crop dusters. Not sure why/

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment