February 13, 2015

  • Baby

    No, this is not me now, thank God.

    Scan-003.BMP

    It was taken more than 31 years ago.  And no, it was not twins, just one big boy, almost 10 lbs.  I was 46 most of the time I carried him, and turned 47  six days before he was born.  We didn't have maternity insurance, so I came home the same night.   I had had to be induced.  I think my body was saying "No, I don't want to do this again."  However it was a normal birth with no problems, and baby was (and still is) healthy.

    My oldest is now in her 50's so we have kids, grand-kids, and great grand-kids of all ages all mixed up. It's been fun and interesting.  I never wanted to be anything other than be a wife and mother, and I was blessed to be able to do that.  Hubby worked long hours to make that possible.  For a long time we made do with one car.  Young folks today would think that is impossible, but it's not.  We had used furniture, hand-me-down clothes, and I learned how to make one chicken last for 3 meals. It was many years before I had a clothes dryer or a dish-washer. I was young then and had lots of energy. Now I am thankful for both those appliances. I'm also very thankful for our new house with an attached garage. We never had one until we built this house 7 years ago. (Not the house in the picture.) The garage is such a blessing, especially in Indiana winters.

     

Comments (8)

  • What you say here was the same for Janine . We got six childreb, who are now from 52 to 41 years old . And indeed the food was light and we were 8 in the car and it was not enough we had also at this time a dog!!!
    I like when you describe yout life . And I think my wife and you can shake their hands
    LOce♥
    Michel

    • It's a good thing there weren't any seat belt laws, or car seats for babies then or you never would have fit. I hope your dog was not a big one.

  • We started out in a one room apartment and young love.

    • We started out in a small trailer......6 feet by 17 feet....with the community bathrooms across the way. We didn't care.

  • There seems a sense of entitlement among the younger generation. they can't seem to shake the notion they HAVE TO HAVE certain things - a car, a cell phone, new clothes... When first married we didn't have a stove for the first month - cooked everything in a crock pot! All of our furniture was second hand and we shopped at thrift stores...I learned to can and we lived on mostly pasta! Good times - wouldn't trade a minute of it. But I am glad to have a cell phone and a sturdy roof!

    • We had a hot plate, and a small oven-like thing that sat on top of it. I made my first lemon meringue pie in it. It turned out runny, but tasted good. I bet you're glad you have a sturdy roof today! Interesting weather, we're having.

  • Sounds like everyone's story of the past. We had a studio apartment when I first came here. Everything was new and different, and I was so unused to anything. But it was fun.

  • Attached garages in wintertime are the best! :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *