February 7, 2015

  • Elephant and Tea

    Pottery Bayou is a small store in our town, where you can go to paint pottery.  You pay a set price to paint, plus the price of whatever you choose to paint.  I had never been there until last year.  That's where I took the 3 grand-daughters for their birthdays,  One was born in Oct. one is Nov. and one the day after Christmas.  We decided a long time ago to celebrate their birthdays together, since there are so many other holidays that time of year, and they are close in age.  So off we went in Nov.  I didn't know what to choose until one of the grand-daughters spotted an elephant.  My husband has an elephant collection.  She insisted I needed to paint it for Grandpa, so I did.  I gave it to him for Christmas.

    104_1067

    The little spots on the mat are bird seeds. My canary is very messy.

    My oldest daughter loves to go there. This is what she gave me for Christmas
    104_1068

    She thought about writing Old Bag. It's a good thing she didn't!
    Here's another picture of it in use.

    104_1069

    Then for my birthday she surprised me with this lovely teapot. The bottom of it is a cup. I love it.

    104_1066

    The inside of it is painted a light tea brown, so tea stains won't show. I can hardly wait for my sister-in-law's visit in March. She is a dedicated tea drinker.

Comments (12)

  • What fun these are.

  • Wonderful!! I do like the teapot and cup combination! My MIL collects teapots and I have made several for her.

  • Such wonderful gifts. My youngest grandkids live in Atlanta and often go and make something For me and the other grandparents.
    I love to look at how they have progressed from messy little kid doings to beautiful things now. I go with them when I visit there. I think I shall ask for a teapot with cup - really like that.

  • I have been wanting one of those 'old bags' things. :-) I use the top from a McDonald's sundae that I kept for just the purpose of catching my discarded tea bags. :-)
    Your elephant is adorable.

    • I had been using a little white bowl/dish that I bought for $1.00 at Pier 1. I don't know what it was supposed to be used for.

  • Love, love the elephant.

  • How creative ~ lovely things ~

  • You had a beautiful idea to take your grandvchildren to this creative place .
    I like the elephant.
    Love
    Michel

  • What a fun idea. I might have to go there when we are back!

  • So cute. My daughter took some of the children to a place in Fort Wayne (?) that does that? Love the old bag one too.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *