July 7, 2013

  • Picking Berries

    Carrying buckets and sprayed with mosquito repellent, some of my family went out to pick berries.  Only one or two of the blueberries are ripe, but lots of raspberries are ripe, and mulberries too.  The blueberry bushes are young and small.  The raspberries grow wild.

    Our oldest daughter is in this picture, plus a grand-daughter and a grand daughter-in-law.  The short plants are strawberries, but we ate most of them already. Some unwanted baby mulberry trees are growing in there too.

    TX daughter with her bucket.

    TX grand-daughter-in-law with hers.  She looks like a kid, but she's grown up.  She and my grandson have been married for 2 years.  

     5 year old grand-daughter.

    I made two pies, but didn't take  pictures of them.  They were good!

Comments (15)

  • nice pics! i hope to plant high bush blueberries in the next couple of years. we go pick low bush wild blueberries on the hilltops in august.--karen

  • how many scratches did you get?

  • I didn't get any. I didn't get any berries that time either. I just got pictures.

  • Mmm, fresh berries. I miss them. Too bad raspberries have so many seeds, though.

  • @whyzat - The recipes for jam say you can remove half the seeds, but I've never bothered. I don't pick the stems of the mulberries either, even though oldest daughter won't eat mulberry pie because of the stems. I tell her the extra fiber is good for you.

  • Yum! Sounds like fun times with family.

  • We had Juneberries growing on our farm, plus my mother would go out on a day with another lady and pic the wild Juneberries. She would can these for dessert or bake a pie. Yum! We also had a chokecherry tree, which my mom would make juice from and use to make jelly ... delicious. I wouldn't trade my being raised on a farm in North Dakota for anything else. We also had 3 kinds of apple trees, plums, and enough vegetables and potatoes to feed you for a winter plus!Did the gals have to be careful about poison ivy or poison oak?

  • Glad you had enough to make pies! Usually there is far too much munching with the picking! I remember once going for blueberries with my Aunt. We surprised a BEAR!

  • @DanishDoll - I'm sure glad we don't have bears in our raspberry patch! There might be a bunny or a garter snake, but as long as they are more afraid of us than we are of them, I'm OK. Though I have to admit if I saw a snake I wouldn't pick any more berries that day, and the next time I went out I'd stomp my feet real hard to scare it away. I always wear jeans and a denim jacket, and tennis shoes to pick. Obviously, these girls don't.

  • @RaZeHeLL - I don't know what a Juneberry is, or a chokecherry, though I've heard of them. There is some poison ivy at the north end of the patch, but not many berries there. I hope none of them got into it.

  • We used to pick blackberries and huckleberries when I was a kid. I don't like mulberries much. What kind of pies did you make?

  • @martna1 - They were rasberry, mulberry, with a couple of blueberries and some strawberries. I guess you'd call them mixed berry pies.

  • Great pictures of pickers. The first picture has such dense foliage. I think I would be scared to step into it for fear of, you know what!

  • Yes, I know what. I haven't seen any of those in that area for several years. I wear socks, shoes, and jeans when I go in the berry patch.

  • such cute pics. We've been picking blackberries and a few blueberries around here.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment