February 25, 2015

  • A Long Time Ago

    Kash Family 007

    I would guess this was taken in 1945. It was probably my birthday party, though it could have been my brother's. I'm not sure. The front row, left to right, a neighbor girl, my cousin Carol Ann, and my brother. The 2nd row, Aunt Marita, cousin Rosemany, friend Barbara, me, and a neighbor boy. The lady in white in the back row is our maternal grandmother, who lived with us. We called her Meme. Next is a friend of our mother's, and then cousin Gloria.

    Birthday parties then were not big affairs like they are now. The kids came over, we played games, opened presents, and then ate cake and ice cream. They usually lasted not much longer than 1 hour. Today there are pinatas, bouncy houses, clowns, ponies, and anything else the parents can think of and afford.......or charge.

    The older we got, the fewer children we were allowed to invite. One year...I think I was about 13......almost too old for a party back then.......I invited 2 or 3 girls, and thought we would have fun baking our own cake. By then Mother and Daddy were divorced. Mother was busy because she was finishing college and working part-time. Besides that, she had a boyfriend. It's a good thing we had Meme around to help mother us. Anyway, my friends spent the whole time watching TV with my brother in the living room while I baked the cake. They did help me eat it though. Of course, TV was still fairly new, and maybe they didn't have any at their houses......I don't know. I think that was the last birthday party I had until I was grown-up. Don't feel too sorry for me......I've had plenty of birthday parties since then. They're not nearly as exciting as they used to be. They're still fun though, especially since I get to share them with the others in our family who have January birthdays, including 2 who were born the same day as me.

    Did you have birthday parties when you were a kid?

Comments (13)

  • You know, I don't remember any birthday parties as a child. I do remember Mom & Dad putting on a "50th - Over the Hill" party for me with my sibs. :-)
    I enjoy the picture and the memories you share... and you really do have a lot of birthdays to celebrate with your offspring now, and other family now!

  • We always had b'day parties. They were usually 5 or 6 friends and family. I remember one beach party (in late December!), a theater party, and a backyard treasure hunt -- those were just the ones that stood out as special. You must have monthly b'day parties now, with all the kids, grandkids and great grandkids!

  • I enjoy seeing your old pictures.

  • We didn't really celebrate birthdays. I don't remember any birthday parties for me when I was growing up. We had cakes sometimes but not parties like they do today. It's fun to have them and a way for the family to get together and enjoy each other.

    PS - Yes, I did take the pictures. It's one of my favorite things to do. :-)

  • Yes but they were much less complicated than the current incarnation of a birthday party. I remember I had an 8th birthday and invited boys and girls - only one boy showed up but we had lots of fun. He told all his friends (who had been invited but didn't come) and they all wanted to know if I was going to have a party for my 9th b'day... hehe! The answer was no.

  • who's the lady in the front far right with the crying baby on her lap? and who's the crying baby?

    • That's my friend, Barbara's mother, Carol. She was a friend of Grammies, who was undoubtedly taking the picture. The baby is hers.

  • Interesting post .So touching.
    I was norm in 1933 and my father was a mechanic in a factory while my mother stayed at home as some of the women at this time . I was also their only childd ; Bo specia lparty for my birthday . It was not on the air at this time . Then there was the war from 1940 to 1945 .
    A long time after the war parties such tou describe appeared in France but I was too old already!!:)
    Love
    Michel

  • you were such a cutie-pie ~ and I don't remember any birthday parties, except my 16th surprise party!

  • Birthday parties have changed a lot over the years. We never did the big party thing. I still struggle when ask about parties for my kids... I feel like I should be making it a bigger deal. Thankfully here in Japan birthdays are more laid back.

  • Yes we had parties at home when we were celebrating the birthdays. It was a big celebration usually, where the parents were also invited and there would be dinner for everyone. Yes, we had cake also.

  • We had family parties as children since we were a party with seven of us. I think my first real party was a surprise party at 16.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories